English District Teachers Receive National Recognition

Kayla Marie Konow was recognized as the Lutheran Education Association (LEA) 2016 Outstanding New Lutheran Early Childhood Teacher. She was presented with the award at Redeemer Lutheran Church in Oakmont, PA, on Sunday, April 24 by Dr. Jonathan Laabs, director of LEA. Miss Konow is a second grade teacher and cross country coach at Redeemer Lutheran School in Verona, PA and graduated in 2015 from Concordia University in Chicago.

Albert Amling was selected to receive Lutheran Education Association’s 2016 Distinguished Lutheran Elementary Administrator award. Mr. Amling is Superintendent of Schools at Hales Corners Lutheran Schools in Hales Corners, WI and earned a B.S. in Education from Concordia University, Nebraska and an M.S. in Education from Concordia University Wisconsin. He was selected by LEA’s Leadership Network leadership team.

Gloria Lawrence, Lead Kindergarten Teacher at Hales Corners Lutheran Elementary School in Hales Corners, WI, was selected to receive Lutheran Education Association’s 2016 Distinguished Lutheran Early Childhood Teacher award. Gloria graduated with a B.A. from Concordia University Chicago. She was selected for the award by LEA’s Early Childhood Network leadership team.

Eva Fronk was selected to receive LEA’s Distinguished Retired Lutheran Educator EncourAGING award. She was selected by the leadership team of LEA’s Retired Lutheran Educators Network, known as EncourAGEnet. Eva lives in Hales Corners, WI. Eva earned a B.S. in elementary education from Arcadia University, Glenside, PA, a Masters of Educational Administration from University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, and LCMS Colloquy through Concordia University Wisconsin. Eva served in Lutheran education 32 years before “retiring” in 2008. During most of those years, Eva served as teacher or principal at Hales Corners Lutheran Elementary School, Hales Corners, WI. Since her “retirement,” she has served as interim principal at schools in Pennsylvania, Nevada, and California. Eva has also served and continues to serve schools and congregations at the regional and national level.

CONGRATULATIONS to all the recipients!